top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Ahmet Yalcinkaya: “Touch” and other poems

Poetryzine Magazine presents the selected poems by the Turkish poet Ahmet Yalcinkaya




Touch

 

Your glance is my longing your dream my daydream

I caress you gently on the rose petals

You are my sun in daytime at night my crescent

 

Like a fairy engraved on the bright canvas

You grab me when I look at your picture

Oh lord of the water, lord of the colour

 

I wish I could be just a ball in your hands

I wish rolling I could catch your nice shadow

How high is your glory how high your great heart

 

This is why you so much resemble the rose

Do not touch me therefore, do not burn your slave

Open a simple door at once in my dream

 

I caress you gently on the rose petals

Neither touching nor keeping off is my state



Love

I come every morning to the beginning of this street

thinking that you will pass from here

I wait, wait, and wait...

when you are seen from far

my heart does not fit to its cage,

tulips bloom in me...

an inexplicable warmth embraces my body

I burn from top to toe...

I do not see who is on the street, I cannot see.

I do not see the trees

and when you approach

freezes my blood, freezes my mind

freezes my soul...

everything freezes in me

you just pass by,

it does not change anything whether I exist or not

it does not matter for you, for the world

or for the sun

when I return home

I carry a dream with me...

there is still a reason again

to overcome the dark and cold night

still a reason for me,

another reason to reach tomorrow morning,

I will run again,

I will run again the following morning

to the beginning of the same street

Translated into English by Richard Mildstone



From the memories of an esteemed bird

whenever I took a mountain with me as pillion rider

to take out with hope,

black one of the winds was hitting my breast with rage,

I was used to it so I never thought on what will happen

this wind which is from a tribe not liking me

this wind which adds me to its blacklist

thought of me as an enemy, really

was blowing against me, at me roaring

but my intention was good in fact I swear

very good what was in my mind, oh dear

if I had known what I did to the sky

why this sad headsman is waiting close to me

it is all right actually do not count my wonder

I am only a simple spirit who struggles for the skies

who lived a happy life in this transitory life will remember well

the heaven was blue before, blue most of the time

and babies were not afraid when they looked to the sky,

why don’t understand this all listening ones

why don’t they believe the words of an esteemed bird…

there is no rule you see not to penetrate the black clouds

up and then we passed to have a breath when gasping

I didn’t know that I blasted without being aware

the foundation of modernity, the self of development

it is said after all that everybody is equal in these times

can this be a reason now to extract my tooth

there is something fishy here since clouds belong to all

if I had known why they decided to flay my skin

why most of them have their head in the clouds

if I had known only

Translated from Turkish by A. Edip Yazar


*Ahmet Yalcinkaya is a Turkish award-winning poet, engineer, scientist, economist and translator. He was born on December 3, 1963 in Giresun, Turkey. He studied engineering, robotics, management, business, physics and divinity at various levels from associate to doctorate at Turkish, US and Swedish universities. He lives and works mainly in Turkey and Central Asia, but also in other geographies, and continues his studies, researches and teachings in Sweden and Turkey.

His poems, essays, letters, interviews, and poetry translations have been published in local and international newspapers and journals. He has received several awards. For a short time in 1995, he edited and published the literary journal Mevsim (The Season). Some of his poems have been translated into more than 15 languages.

He has published 6 collections of poetry and prepared an English poetry anthology with Richard Mildstone. Has also many works in technical and management fields additional to his literary collections.





33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page