top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Interview: Syeda Anila Talib

Poetryzine Magazine presents the interview with the Pakistani poetess Syeda Anila Talib

Syeda Anila Talib


Dear Syeda, thank you for taking time out to talk to the Enheduana Literary Magazine. Can you tell our readers when was your first encounter with writing?


First of all, thank you very much for giving me the opportunity to introduce myself. I was in my childhood, when I saw children doing labor in my country, some old people were sleeping on the street and some were selling flower Bracelet then I thought that I will help them through my words. The first step towards writing was in the beginning I faced immense difficulties as I was the first writer in my family.


What you find most enjoyable or exciting about writing?


What I find the best thing about writing is that it takes me into the world I want to live in. As we usually don't get to live the life we ​​want to live in the real world, I make my characters do that. What I want to do is educate underprivileged village women through my novels, that's what I love.


Tell us something about your literary carrer. What kind of literature do you prefer. What are your favourite writers?


My writing career contain obscenity, that does not force a woman and that teaches you how to live. Among my favorite writers are the poetry of Turkey such as Elif Shafaq and Nizar Qabbani. I also like Maulana Rumi.


How is it like to be a Muslim poetess (or generally woman writer)? What can you tell us about your very unique record, 99 poems for 99 names of Allah?


As you know I am a Muslim so I wanted my relationship to be strong with the one who created me so it was a spiritual journey words came to me and I wrote. Being a female writer is quite a challenging task because I was quite young when I started my career, there was no one to guide me, there is no Writers' Academy in our country and there are no regular workshops. I was sixteen years old when I started writing regularly, I made my own way. I belong to a village, there are no facilities here, but I worked hard and succeeded.


How do you see the future of poetry? Will it be overrated?


Poetry is the inner voice and it will continue as long as the world exists. There is no threat to its future. It is certain that people have come to write without studying, which is quite wrong, but writers are very sensitive to their feelings. Should be taken care of them.


Any plans for the future in regards to your literary carrer or cultural activism?


My dream is that my poetry will be placed in different art galleries and many libraries in my country with my name so that more girls can get motivated and enter this field. I want to create a free center for orphans where they can get education and to give skills and education to the young generation around the world. It is my dream to spread peace through my writings.





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page