top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Nguyen Chinh: The call of peace from love

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Vietnamese poet Nguyen Chinh


I like to tell you


I’d like to tell you, your queen I may be

Your heart throne you save for me only

Reviving love is full of the poetic taste of youthful prime

The true, good, and beautiful I’ve sought for a long time

I’d like to tell you: millions of stars in the galaxy

The brightest star must be me, oh, my honey!

Though I’m so diminutive in the vast space

In the dark night, you never mistake my place

I’d like to tell you: my love is naïve and innocent

With a lot of dreams so passionate and ardent

I long for my ambition under the immense sky

A great love might melt my loneliness like ice

Which Eden garden? I still want to seek for the start

The thousand-mile life road I keep my loyal heart

I’d like to tell you: my true love is given obviously

Though life is in the vicissitudes I keep my loyalty


The call of peace from love

Peace is like the bright sunshine

As the source of peaceful beings in life

Like virtue, everybody is desiring

To perform the truth of believing

Using grace to bury hatred emotions

To turn wickedness into compassion

First and foremost peace is sympathy indeed

Then giving up a grudge, eradicating greed

Due to poverty, mercy is a righteous way of Lord

We should have fair behavior to end the war

All nations have the same responsibility

To help all people have a good living, you see

For that result, they must understand to handle

The true, the good and the beautiful as examples

They must admire, adore God, and love human

If they were selfish they’d make chaos homeland

We should agree that the world is a big family

Though we are not the same race and country

But have the same mentality of asking happiness

We should be united to create peace – endless


Mother's words spoken to her daughter

Listen to my teaching, my dear girl!

Half of your life you’ll live with another

You’re still not young, being nurtured

And protected by my arms forever

There will be a day you have a romance

First of all, you think of a young man

Not to think of your mother embracing you

Caressing you to share sadness and joy clues

It will not be simple, my dear girl

Your heart will begin to wander

To be worried about another secrecy

I understand, my girl! The necessaries

I cannot bind you – cannot forbid you

To love your boyfriend who loves you

I cannot even stop you to obtain

Your vow with rivers and mountains

I only consider your chosen lover

For contributing my sincere ideas

About things small in normal life

Loving a young man is a good surprise

You have to contemplate a lot in mind

People usually, analyze noodle and rice

Alas! How is food to compare with girls?

Why do you think yourself to be noodles or rice?

You must be yourself – a woman

Or a kind girl in the eyes of a man

Simply, he divided girls into two kinds

A kind for being loved… another for bye

If not being loved, don't keep anyone

You should not have many loving ones

Don’t worry to lack a man for your choice

You’re so beautiful I don’t like to require

You mustn’t be widely talent, good at all jobs

But you can make money as I always hope

Never depend on anyone on money – never!

Try to make money - a before-eye matter

Although having much money, please decide

Not to rely on it, let be stable your mind

Although you earn more money than he’ll do

Don’t let your lover feels ashamed. It’s true

Don’t be proud of your money earning

When putting on the scale it means nothing

It’s an obligatory relationship you must keep

A woman needs to respect a life partnership

For a sincere man, he’s occasionally pitied

Only because he doesn't know necessaries

If you are in anger, let be calm, in the end

Don’t try to show your heavy discontent

He isn’t patient as you think, I remind

He sometimes looks like a naïve child

Of course, he has a big body but he’s still silly

Be soft, everything has its broken point truly

If two of you are childish, love will be broken

Be an adult, you are at the mature age golden

Dear girl! What he needs you to do, please show!

You must be a serious person, do you know?

You are familiar with him but not boring

You may share but it’s not your burdening

Before marriage, he is not your own sake

Don't be subjective, you’ll make mistakes

If you try to be a good talented woman

I think you should not be in such romance

No one is perfect everyone naturally knows

Don’t be a beautiful doll in the glass window

If you’re high talent no one dares to love you

You should humble to see your position true

For you to know yourself, It will be wiser

You try to show off, the bad fame appears

If you show off, it means you wear a mask

You cannot hide your personal clue at last

The housework you are envious not to do

Surely there will be a break up of you two

Among people, they all know the equality

Loving you he knows how to harmony

Do not be draconian or extremely fair

So you can keep him be at home there

Obey me, do your cooking frequently

During the stormy days in your family

Loyalty is the thing you have to keep

Hand in hand, you don’t rush to leave

There has ever been someone to regret already

She blamed God due to ungraceful, unlucky destiny

You should be smart to get along more or less

I really think you will be in your happiness…





29 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page