top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Raed Anis Al-Jishi: Too Young to be Drunk

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Saudi poet Raed Anis Al-Jishi

Too Young to be Drunk


I draw an X on my hand

to say: I will not drink

from the liquor of the dream;

I will not partake in the diversion of drugs;

I drink no milk with the meat of lust

or sip cold tea with lemon.

As a civilian


I enjoy the music of cawing,

condensed in the click of glass.

I used to call them the wings of the devil.


I don't trust in a trimmed scale,

constricting like a tomb

hidden by a cinematic crow,

its beak made from glass,

its tongue a cold corpse --

Maybe if I borrow more darkness;

maybe if I shatter the source of light in the mirrors of Earth,


maybe if I lash his back with the sun

as hard as a star could practice

its freedom of the press,


I may see him in a face

that won't swindle my thirst.


How many howling dogs should die?

And how many clowns should I heed

when I cross the nonsensical pasture?


Clowns are the wisest and the cruelest.

They laugh at our faces’ reflections

and our bashful cries of childish joy.

They tell themselves:

How petty you are!

Petty and tame like circus dogs...



The Body


With eyes half-closed

and a headache that won't be purged

by aspirin's priests,

which I eject from my body --


My body that I don't like so much,

but I don’t mock it as it should be mocked.

Or love it as it should be loved.


I never sip drowsiness all at once,

didn’t think of seeking it

from the shepherds' Sheikhs.

And I didn't learn the rules of love


before falling asleep.

I used to feel bored by Rumi’s speeches,

and I like to think of death as a mistress.


A mistress won’t repeat:

Must, must, must.

A mistress won’t say:

Follow me,

oh sheep of the Lord,

to the grassy hillock I''ll show you.

A mistress doesn't love

inadvertently or negligently.


A mistress wont swing like a gallows

nor wrap around like a snake

when she pursues you

through punctuation marks,


the mistress you chose to name

another name

like the detritus of a stray spider --

Do I say the mistress a lot?


My body is in pain,

and I don’t take care of myself.

My eyes can’t adjust to the darkness.

I don’t care about your answer.


You are suffocated like another beat

in a theatrical rhythm.

There is no genetic mutation rising


in the twilight of the trail.


Only the mistress

is spinning surreptitiously

the carpet for marching.



Lust


I keep lust in the flames of my heart,

but its fragrance strips the secrets

of the nebula's pulse.


The fragrance is the language

of the stolen senses in the cave.

It doesn't show its self-celebration

even to its owner – the host.

She tells him to cheer up

or be more humble or angry.

And anger,

it deludes him with his heroism

and superiority when he feels it.


The perfect wetness for a cat's nose

doesn't suit the repetition

of your dry cheeks.


The smell is its silent language

and our luminous lust,

and we are dependents,

nothing but dependents,


on the ether.





59 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page