top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Kristy Raines: “Living in a Dream” and other poems

Kristy Raines



I ALREADY KNEW



Never lose who you are to be anyone's, Someone

Your heart need not express what I see in your eyes

I know the man you are and what you say I can always trust

Did you really think that I didn't know your dream?

It is nice to know that I am missed when we are not together

You are always on my mind and in my conversations

If my eyes can drive you crazy then we have more than most

Tell no one my dear.. they would not understand such a love

You are welcome in my dreams always and we will get lost together

You never had to try to express your love.. I already knew..



LIVING IN A DREAM



Your voice often haunts me when I sleep

and I wake up only to realize that you aren't here

Can two people live life in their daydreams?

The reality of life now falls on us both

Like a storm that displaces us from each other

The happy world seems lost at the moment

and you ask me were you should go without me.

Storms come, and then rainbows follow thereafter.

So where should you go without me? Nowhere...



IF I COULD



There is someone who would claim you

And be so happy to be your very own

She watches from afar at the one who cries

She cries every tear he does because she feels him

His tired eyes from the tears of loneliness hurt her.

She also stays awake at night dreaming of him;

The woman who would be happy to own his grief,

become his heart and soul and gladly promise him

the stars and the moon in the sky above... sigh

What she would not give to be the one who would

make a lifetime of memories with him and see his smile

so he could sleep soundly and be at peace inside.

But he doesn't know it is me who is that someone...

His best friend, his confidant, his cheerleader

And I will never tell him.... It is not my role in his life...

nor my journey to walk with him, although I gladly would..

If I Could...




THE DOOR SHE WILL NEVER UNLOCK



And in less than a Moment, the threads of her heart broke

The stars stopped twinkling; The moon no longer came out

and the Sun.. She cried so hard that the tears put out her flame.

The one she finally opened the door to, closed it,

and the door.. she will never let it open again.

Long ago she swore she would never again let her heart beat that hard

The pain would not be worth the chance... and she was right

She kept saying no, leave me alone. He kept knocking

The next day, he knocked louder. Again she said, no.

She finally gave in against her better judgement.

Every day she opened it a little more and one day smiled

She opened the door wide and quit hiding the rose behind her back

He asked her to sing with him.. She sang the song he begged her to sing

He sang back and she smiled at his beautiful voice.

She sang once again back to him the song he had asked.

This time, he didn't like her song, even though he had beg to hear it

She did not understand what she had done and he never told her

He screamed at the moon and slammed the door shut..

he was gone.

She did not know what she had done. She did all he asked of her

So she once again locked the door and this time it will not open again.

Kristy Raines


SHALL WE TRY AGAIN?


The ache in my heart, I'm sure, is more painful

than yours since we have been apart.

Though I try to ignore the torture and emotion,

my heart is in pain so much of the time.

My face is wet from the tears I cry silently.

I have always prided myself for being so strong.

Crying is foreign to me because I refuse to be weak,

but you, for some reason can bring me to my knees.

And yes, I do try to hide it, but not very well.

Now that my smile is small, it hides nothing.

Everyone can tell that deep down I am drowning

along with you, and there is no glory in that.

No, love can't be the same, but maybe it can be made stronger..

So, I put down my pride and say with all that is in me

as I stand before you with no shame and tell you,

"I am still in love with you!". And in my vulnerable state say,

"I don't want to hide anymore behind this fake smile."

"Forgive my pride and stubbornness, but my heart has suffered

much in life and it is hard to show vulnerability."

Before I turn and walk away, I will ask you once only and then no more...

Shall we try again?




TOO BEAUTIFUL FOR THIS WORLD



He walked down the stairs like the sun

and shared with me his brightness

I look at his face and wonder if he is Angel or human?

Words of perfection and sweetness cross his lips

I hear doves singing as they circle his head like a crown

A Prince fit for the dream of a Princess

I am sure he was born in a forest, from mythical creatures

Or did he leap from a cloud? There are no other explanations.

For he's too beautiful for this world...

Kristy Raines


WHEN SOMEONE TRULY CARES


When someone truly cares...

They fill your nights with forever's

You are the shining star that makes their day

And your eyes glisten like jewels with happiness

Together, and clinging to each other always

Only joy and gladness from a gentle touch

Kisses so gentle, they can only be compared to Heaven

Our senses burn in the heat of the moment

Those are the things that I feel since this heart met yours

We will always love, care, laugh, and cry only happy tears

Because we saved each other...

Now all pain is gone.




Kristy Raines was born on April 9, 1957, in Oakland California in The United States. A Poet, Writer and an Activist for Human Rights and Genocides Internationally. She has five books ready to publish soon, one with a prominent poet from India which will launch in August 20223, two fantasy books of her own, an anthology of poems in English, in French and Arabic. She is learning Arabic and has received many literary awards, has two poetry groups on Facebook and supports many charities. She is know for her unique style of writing.




49 views1 comment
bottom of page