top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Aasia Majeed: “ I am a woman” and other poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Pakistani writer Aasia Majeed

I am a woman I am a woman with flesh and blood Not made for your extreme lust I have emotions, I have dreams O would it be that you don't forget That I am also a human just as you If only my purpose in life If only my role in the society Had you realized! Desires of thirsty eyes Parched due to the tears of blood O would it be that you don't forget Much do I suffer, I am a woman A human, just as you A graveyard this world would be Without me, do not crush me to death Walking skeletons you would be Quest for my soul, so pure Why, oh, why you ignore! Let us both live and love Try to win my heart, my core That is my real grace Would it be that you are? Virtuous and sincere Since I am a woman With flesh and blood Oh My Loneliness! I sat glumly in the dark, She entered the room secretly. And pinched me hard, But I remained silent. She forced me to welcome her again, And asked me why I was sad. So she could get rid of my gloom, And make me smile like a full moon. I went out with her, To the garden to enjoy and laugh. Like birds chirping and; Felt the depth of nature. She remained with me until I, Completely forgot the anguish inside. She is my loneliness, Always with me! She is my lover, sometimes a savior; She cares for me like a mother. Oh, what a sweet comrade of mine!

Time Drives Though the fate is not In your hand, Though the time today is Not in your favor, Though the tears don't dry in your eyes, Though you forget how important it is to smile, The dark doesn't remain forever, Dreary clouds don't stay here forever, The time must change And turn into your savior, Your barren land shall be fertile, Trees shall grow their buds as ever, And their fragrance will spread everywhere, Till that time arrives You show your perseverance, And see what comes from wherever. Peacekeeper When words are injured And silence drowses in the dark pessimism With deep screaming Even the breathing sound seems to be plagued As the dead is unaware Of the dust clown world And its colours, drowned in heap of Creeping worms licking his sins So that time, You're the only one who combines The scattered pieces of my body together Like pavilion of flowers in a garden And its balm attracts remote butterflies Oh! My heart, you're the only one Who keeps this battle on for my sake? You're the one breathing for my existence The precious one shines my darkness, in despair You try to rear on the waist With new spirit, passion and enthusiasm Oh! Heart you're the last hope of my life The real peacekeeper of mine...! What have you made of me? I was living as a maunder, I was plunged as a falling star; I was deserted as a straggle spirit, I was a dud as an aneroid. But you came into my life as a glowing moon, And brightened me as rising boon; You changed this tramped spirit, In a lilting sweet melody. Sprinkled dreams in my vacant eyes, As a cactus makes honey; I've become the legacy of your love, That now lights up the whole world. Frigid human like frosty winter On a wintry cold night I came out of my house To see and enjoy the Beauties of winter. Lonely, I walked and walked on the road. Suddenly I heard some cries– Cries of a woman coming from a house A man mercilessly hitting his wife. I was shaken, But walked faster at that moment After a few steps I saw a child in the middle of the road Shivering with cold, tired with hunger Standing, he was in front of a restaurant with shining eyes filled with hope Men were eating and throwing meals for dogs But no one took notice on boy's desperation My heart was filled with sorrow again The faster I strode At some distance I witnessed A group of people dancing and enjoying With loud music and songs But with a single blow everything changed in a fleeting moment Dead bodies drenched in blood everywhere No one stopped My heart wept the tears of blood I walked faster again But this time back towards home That night I witnessed two faces of a single coin Which really covered the human soul? On a wintry night I saw the coldness of men Am I a monster? Haunted screams and cries Broken dreams and desires Deserted and rejected I was brought to this world! Was I really a slang, Or an unwanted child? My mother grinded her Head on walls and tiles Like my father raged to Throw me in dirty water Was I really a sin, Or an immoral crime? Being not a girl or boy I was brought up with Stones and annoyed With shameless catcalls Was I really made to be? Hanged or burnt alive? Wiped out my own scars Every night I sobbed aloud On my trapped soul That was caged inside Was I really human, Or a bloody monster? I scratched the lines on My hands with a sharp Piece of glass pane to make My own destiny! Was I here for only Dance and mockery? With new spirit and devotion Being insulted and agitated I must spread that notion We have hearts with emotions Was I really so weak? Or fragile? Papa kissed me first time With guilt in those eyes When I saved his life By being a good doctor I only ask one question From all the cruel humans What is our fault? For being a transgender?





37 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page