top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Deepika Singh: “You are my poetry” and other poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Indian poet Deepika Singh



YOU ARE MY POETRY


Flapping her wings a butterfly came and whispered your name.

Quietly I turned the pages of your life,

Gazing eyes, an untold story.

Robust voice, hiding agony.

Stern figure, mellow deep inside.

Blessing hands, mind hunger for knowledge.

Pampering animals, painting nature.

In the core of your electric mind,

I know you are entangled with numerous pain.

Tormented nights, a vagabond soul,

You have revealed your scars,

I won't repeat them.

Your honesty lures me and I am diving deep into the pages of your life.

Your problems are my privilege now,

And together we will overcome.

You are my poetry,

Which I longed to write.




YEARNING FOR


In my next birth I crave to be a tree.

A big shady tree,

My roots will spread to miles,

And together we will foster our precious Earth.

It will be a hub of colourful birds,

Like a mother, I will protect them in the storms,

And will never let them fall.

Muscular branches will make the children swing,

And their giggling sound will nourish me for ages.

My dry branches will warm a shabby hut,

Around the bonfire souls hum for free.

Emerald green leaves will give fresh breeze,

And the fragrance of my flowers will purify the soul.

My hunger child won't starve anymore,

Juicy fruits will fuel their empty stomach for years.

My bark will heal the scars,

And my wisdom branches will create a paradise.




ODE TO MY PARENTS


Holding my hands you have taught me

How to measure the right scales of life.

Croon me once more that sugary lullaby

Which will take me out of this unethical world.

You have always wiped away

My trepidation, my hidden blubbering.

Your love for me is to the depth, breadth and height.

You are always a source of motivation to me.

Your words have strengthened me.

For me, you are all in all.

My Almighty, my friend, my mentor.

The joy of being your daughter

Is like a gift to me from the heaven above.

Our future will be gold where we will stay one.

Be it a joy or sorrow

In my next birth I crave to have

The bliss of your lap.





Deepika Singh is a poet from Margherita Assam India. She is a qualified M.A, B. Ed, teacher by profession. Her writings, reflect her personal observations of day to day life. She believes that the right words can change our society. Some of her poems also got featured in Bharata Vision, The Poet Magazine, Web Poesia, Womensweb, The Literary Mirror, Atunis galaxy poetry, Poetryzine Magazine, Archer magazine.














































40 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page