top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Dr. Perwaiz Shaharyar: “The creatures of the dark nights” and other poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Indian poet Dr. Perwaiz Shaharyar



O, my beloved!


O, my beloved, This is not like that, I do not love you anymore, Albeit, I do not express it, That how much to you, I adore

I love you more, Make it sure, You are my heart and soul, This is the other thing, I do not exhibit it, In the word of having letter four, Even if all the charms have lost, from the half open-angle of your rose-like curly lips, I do not stare at them, All the times with the greedy eyes, And lusty lips.

I do not try to wake up you from sweet dreaming, By stirring the Taj Mahal like your bosoms, To take you out for the moon-bath, In the night of the full strawberry moon, like those of our initial days.

It is not like that, I do not love you anymore, I do not have a sense of the rising waves, Those of the thirst in the sea of your eyes, But it is true, I don’t want, always to sail my boat. My winning is hidden in your wins, indeed, In the game of the chess, O, My heart stealer, I do not convert my every wins into defeat, Please do not see my deviations, As my indifferent attitude towards you, In our vast journey of love, O, My co-traveler! You are my soul mate, I cannot live without you, The distance is a sojourn, Since bread and butter have also to earn, Stomach sometimes becomes more powerful, Than our heart and soul. It makes us forget all aims and goal, This is the reason that, I do not want to make wet, Your deer-like beautiful eyes…

O, My beloved! This is not like that, I do not love you anymore, Albeit, I do not express it, That how much to you, I adore…




The burning boat

I had burnt my boat When I crossed the sea I was then alone Only my shadow witnessed it Now, the stink of burning only I can smell The burnt mark is visible to those Who have sparks in their eyes I am carrying the sea and burnt boat within me My boat was burning There on the sands of seashore Since then with the every tide Sea attempts to put out the fire and Wash off my burnt boat Even for the high tide, it’s not possible to do so My heart is burning in separation of my beloved It’s pangs are too intensive My blanket cannot properly cover my body To extinguish the fire The sea is nothing but my vast body My toes are touching the sea bed My boat is my heart within – the Sun on the sky Smokes come out all over in my mind My hairs turned into ashes grey By the heat of my burning heart It seems, my heart can’t meet; Can’t make reunion with my beloved Till the sea of my body gets dried out O, my Lord! How long I will have to wait To show you my burning heart Alas…!




Something has lost


It was my thought

That the moments of my life

Will pass even without being captured

In the cage of your scented locks

But, it was my misconception

Your memories,

Like waves under waves of a dwindle

Get mixing in my entire way of life

Never lets me take rest

I have thought,

Besides your sweet eyes,

There are other enchanting paths and beautiful arms also

Apart from your blond velvety arms

But, it was my misconception

Memories of your serpent like plait of hairs,

Even after the passage of a long time

Puts on something like a chain around my feet

Get my legs stopped, suddenly!

Someone draws a Luxman Rekha, a circle around me

Some stone like lines get appeared, at once, in front of my eyes

I have thought, even without you,

My life could have decorated, days could have shined,

Nights could have spread fragrances

But, it was my misconception

Today, when I look back

I find myself standing alone

Looking for, as if, something has lost of a traveler

In the mysterious dense jungle of your golden memories



Woman, beyond the index of body


Lake like eyes/ Scarlet coral-like lips/ Curly-curvy hairs

Attraction all four directions

These are mazes

Face and physical charms are curtains, indeed

A weapon to keep off you from the desired abode

A true woman lives in somewhere else

Beyond the index of her body

Sitting crouch like a recluse

Just like an abstract thing

Like a dream of snow-white clouds

Sometimes, similar to the moonless dark night

Dormant lightening, full of its potency

Extremely tough meditation is needed

To open her inner layers of heart,

Love is considered to be the genuine pearl of a woman

This can discover by proceeding beyond her body

Otherwise, nothing lies in the whirlpool of body

Man wants to overpower

The screaming body of a woman

But the body is a dune of sands/ a fair of desires

There is only mirage and mirage

Woman uses to be hidden,

Somewhere in her inner self,

Instead of, being found in her apparent body

Which is like an epic center of a live volcano

A man in his entire life

Uses to run after fascinating faces

Like those idiot men

Who on the surface of the water

Often, stare at diving and floating waves

With their curious eyes

Use to play, the whole day, with shells lying on beaches

Perhaps, they do not know

That the true pearls are senselessly lying

In the depth of a sea,

Where the breathes not much support the divers

To achieve such unknown pearls in the deep sea

Needed to wait till the lips of shell get opened

To get the original element of a woman

You will have to raise the curtain of deceitful face

You will have to step down

In to the concealed room of her heart

You will have to knock and knock again

At the tightly closed window of her soul

A woman is not a thing of luxury

Not a commodity of marketing

Not even a body of only bone and flesh

The true name of a woman is ------

Love, love, and only love!



My pillow was wet


The last night of week-end

When I was going to bed

You came silently like a lion

Who takes position after its prey!

You knocked the door quietly

Entered tiptoes into my room

Whispered in the melodious voice

Melted some nectar in my ear

Your, such behavior was rare

You had held my hand

Took me to moon-light land

That was serene seashore

Full of soft white sand

When we looked around

It was melancholic Virgin Island

I plucked some fruits

From the nearby tree

Believe me!

Those were absolutely free

We got our hands and robes

Messed with the juices of passions

We put off them to get into the water

The beach was so neat and clean

I don’t remember how long we swim

We were weeping on our departure

When I woke up

It was a pleasant morning for me

The Room was smelling

With the fragrance of lily

One thing I noticed

That was very strange

There was no sign of rain

That scene, I can never forget

My pillow was wet!



My poem of spring


These are two ends of the same string

Autumn season and the season of spring


Trees shed their leaves in the autumn

Don’t take it negative don’t condemn


Autumn gives us lesson again to think

About merchants whose ship does sink


However, change is the part of our life

Says to husband, after wedding, all wife


If autumn comes, spring is not far behind

Don’t get upset and let agony come in mind


Do you know, our body is just like a tree

Remember, it blooms when it feels free


When you feel intoxication in the eyes of a woman

You must know spring has come and gone autumn


Trees enjoy spring much more than human

They don’t believe in the saving for autumn


We, human beings, cannot often enjoy full of spring

Because, we live in calculating the future’s savings


Mankind should learn about life, how is it to enjoy

By coming close to nature, by leaving the digital toy




The rainbow


Listen Children

Do you know?

What makes a rainbow?

Some sees a scientific reason

Behind it, some says

It’s a demon’s bow

Some says it is a bridge

From the sky to the earth

By which a king frog

Gets landing down to his burrow

That’s why mostly in a rainy season

Often appears such a rainbow


Listen Children

Do you know?

How does it make

A colorful rainbow

When light travels into a droplet

It reflects from within

And just like a prism

It causes a rainbow


Listen children

Do you know?

How many colors are require

To make a rainbow

Seven colors need to glow

To make an luminous rainbow

These colors are as given below

Red, orange, yellow, green

Blue, violet and indigo


Listen children

Do you know?

There are few other kinds of rainbow

Fog bow, moon bow, twinned rainbow

Multiple rainbow and full circle rainbow


Listen children

Do you love rainbow

Yes, I know you love rainbow

I also love rainbow

Because it gives color in our life

To glow everywhere like a rainbow



Wake up Asia


Sometimes,

This thought,

Comes in my mind that

The Pregnant Earth would give birth to children

Till how long

Within a blink of an eye from its belly

This Earth would pour out thousands of children

Till how long

Millions of creeping and crawling children on her chest

Would demand milk from dry breast of their mother

Till how long

Being habituated of drugs ----- this Earth

Vomit smokes from its mouth

Till how long

Carbon stricken

These millions of children

Sustain their uprooting breaths

Till how long

These small kids

Will become tired after their continuous running

Someday uselessly

Sometimes,

This thought,

Comes in my mind that

The oxygen manufacturing in the factory

Would spent out ----- Someday

There would remain no farm-lands anywhere on this Earth to cultivate food grains

Before that the demon of population would wake up -----

And eaten up all the food-grains tied in the corner of clad of mother Earth

Muse for a while!

Before it that

The balance of man and Nature would get disturbed

Before it that

The global warming will destroy the environment

Before it that

The whole world get sunk into water

We should do something

Muse for a while!

The whole West is crying about Global Warming

But the whole Asia is sleeping carelessly

Sometimes,

This thought,

Comes in my mind that

We would have to take some corrective steps

We would have to make some arrangement well in time

O, yes!

Asia will have to take a lead by going ahead

All the responsibilities have to be onus

Before it that

It will get too late

Before it that

The human beings get defeated by the devils

Before it that

In Nuclear Deals, the whole world get turned into a heave of ashes

Before it that

The sky would become the enemy of the earth

Before it that

The Yajooj-Majooj get done their work

Before it that

The San-conscience stars of the sky

Do finished the game of lives from the earth

Muse for a while

O, the race of Adam!

You will have to leave the luxuries

For the sake of sustenance of life on the sphere of the earth

As a preventive measure

You will have to fight even with Dajjal

For the sake of spiritual evolution

The citizens of Asia will have to fight against their ego

O, yes, Asia has to take a lead

Come on,

Wake up Asia!




In the favour of hunger


The Hunger is after all a hunger Whether it would be below the navel or above the navel When hunger is felt Then a man becomes restless Hunger may be Marxist or Freudian When hunger is felt Then a man becomes rebel Mankind do not regress even from prohibitions In punishment of such a perpetration The residents of paradise were sent down on the Earth After descending from paradise On the surface of the earth, one day Their private organs had revealed It occurred, as if, the hunger of the above navel Had made it connected with a never ending phenomenon Since then, after being satiated with breads of wheat A man steps down into the deep valley of navel Set out to the journey, So that he can connect himself with Adam and Eve --- The oldest couple of the world If being static is a symbol of death Then save this symbol from being static; To break this static situation Dive into the spring of life Install the canvasses of boat To turn the flow of the wind in his favor, Hunger is after all hunger When hunger is felt A man becomes restless Mankind cannot be able to differentiate Among one’s own relatives and others When Kabel had killed his brother Hubel Only for the sake of a faceless girl Since then man sheds blood on the chest of the earth In deed, the same eternal instinct of hunger Exists in mankind, even today Hunger is after all a hunger When it is felt, then a man becomes restless




The creatures of the dark nights


This is such a long dark night

Which does not has its dawn

We are passing through such a mystic tunnel

Wherein light is not seen up to a far distance

Everywhere there is a thick darkness

We are afraid and scary sitting in the bogies of the train

Not a single ray of light can go out

On the shine of a subtle light

Some abstract hand of darkness

Suddenly appears from window to pull out

Someone from among us, and

The person becomes a part of the darkness

The endless darkness

A number of our friends

Authors, poets, and journalists

Have become, so far, its bites

Have become the travelers of the countries of oblivion

Whoever have come been trapped into its claw,

He has never returned back to home

The darkness is approaching at the speed of a tempest

Its gigantic tsunami waves

Getting faster than its previous waves

We were earlier used to be free birds

Used to talk with the winds

We are now confined in our own Quarantine

The home has become as if a cage of birds

We are imprisoned in it like behind the bars

Scared beneath the horrible shades of fear

Waiting and counting down for our turns

Afraid and baffled,

Aloof from the maddening crowd

Half-dead and feeble

We have become tired of reciting

The elegies of our dear ones

The darkness whose food is oxygen

It squeezes the last bubble of oxygen from the body

It leaves making a man a dead body

In absence of oxygen within a few seconds

A person, going out in want of light, in the morning

Becomes fed off of life by the evening

Turns back his face from life and his family

Collects the wrapped body from the mortuary for

The last rituals of cremation or burial

Under the Covid-19 protocol

We are passing through such an endless dark night

Which does not seem to be finished

We have been, one by one,

Being the part of this thick darkness

We are that much helpless and feeble

We don’t have even standard Kits

To fight with our invisible enemy

The shrewd and hypocrites are in power

They are doing business

With innocent people like us

Politics

Commerce

Diplomacies

All have become suddenly old fashioned

They are making continuously lame excuses

They are peeping into their foul-smelling armpits

We all are passing through such a mystic tunnel

Where the light is not seen up to a far distance

This is a long dark night

Which does not seem to be finished




Dr. Perwaiz Shaharyar is an Editor in National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT), Ministry of Education, Government of India. He had been Principal Publication Officer in National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language in 2007. He is, presently, a member of Advisory Board of National Book Trust India. He is a famous short story writer, poet and critic from India. He is Graduate with English Honors from Ranchi University. He has topped Jawaharlal Nehru University in Masters with Literature. He was awarded Doctor of Philosophy for his Research Work from University of Delhi. He is Post Graduate Diploma holder in Calligraphy, Mass Media and in Book Publishing with Specialization in Editing. He has begun writing his poems in English since lockdown in the period of Pandemic Covid-19. He has written around 50 poems, participated in many worldwide webinars and published in various international anthologies, so far. His poems are being published in several magazines within country and abroad. His poem ‘The Burning Boat’ contains mystic (Sufism) and metaphysical elements. He has bagged many States and National Awards and accolades for his literary works. He has total 12 published books, 2 each of collections of short stories and collections of poems, 4 books of criticism and 4 books of translation from other languages in his credential. His one children story book has been published by a premier organization National Book Trust, India. His collection of 12 stories for children is ready to print from India. Furthermore, his anthology entitled as “The Burning Boat” is under process for publishing, which is likely to be brought out in 2021.






21 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page