top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Elisabetta Bagli: “Beyond” and other poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Italian poet Elisabetta Bagli


The Wire Mantle of eternal frost your words On arms and legs petrified, Property memories nailed At our cruel passion. Helpless body, alive only the eyes Which spin freely into the rose’s room Where are echo words of love Clear as the timid dawn, Purple as the most daring of the sunsets. No one knows what crown of thorns Is our secret Anchored at the thought That surrounds us and frees us, That makes us alive and love; No one will ever hear its sighs And welcome the hot flavor Of the delirium lips, When desire is unbearable And it will explode in Paradise. I wonder now: Where will my futile thought? Where will nest in your heart? Only escape from my mouth And as a chill wind reaches The pulsating jewel Where now slowly it’s dying. You are the name of the whip That every day strikes My limbs. You are the name of that wire which still binds us, steel to life. Beyond Beyond, Over the horizon, Beyond the saline smell Hidden in your bososm, Between impervious waves and rocks; Beyond, Beyond the roots, Beyond the hanging fronds, Among the greedy flora Of garlands in bloom; Beyond, Beyond words, Beyond the world in flames, In the sweet firmament, Shiny and everlasting It's you, woman, Girl, lover and mother, You are the indefatigable one Loosen the chains With your silent and true song, Soothe torments and memories With your dewy lips And silk hands, You are the one who gives your last will To the world.

(Translated into English by Elisabetta Bagli)


Beat

Tell me, my love,

Can you hear the notes

Of our song?

To live in the distance

The light and its nuances?

To see the trees grow

And their fruits,

Without the intimacy of my presence?

Tell me, my heart,

You can tame the reins

Of our wild souls?

To whip the storm

That threatens the perennial sun?

Give me the insatiable rhythm

Of your waves,

Without falling into the blackest abyss?

It's not easy, I know.

But you are the power and the will,

The time and its forms,

The desire of the infinite.

You are the throbbing smile

Which merges into the fire of sunset,

That unravels on our spring.

You are that incessant and true beat

That only I live, I feel and breath.






41 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page