top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Ezhil Vendhan: “Fire flowers” and other poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Indian poet Ezhill Vendhan

Banyan tree


Banyan tree I am,

a marvellous one at that.

This gigantic form

have I taken

out of a very tiny seed

like an atom’s mighty power.


Grown on the bloody mire of sacrifice

and watered by human tears,

my branches leap boundaries

and extend as my vision goes on.

I am the refuge for birds

longing for shades

from my ever-green branches

and the exquisite taste of my fruit.


Varied indeed are the languages

of the varied species of birds

of many a hue,

but the thought

that inspires the song

is the same forever and ever.


I’m the tent,

where birds that toil and

moil all day revel.

On my branches gets inaugurated

each season of festivity.

Banyan tree I am,

a marvellous one at that.


This gigantic form

have I taken

out of a very tiny seed

like an atom’s mighty power.

Grown on the bloody mire of sacrifice

and watered by human tears,

my branches leap boundaries

and extend as my vision goes on.


I am the refuge for birds

longing for shades

from my ever-green branches

and the exquisite taste of my fruit.

Varied indeed are the languages

of the varied species of birds

of many a hue,

but the thought

that inspires the song

is the same forever and ever.

I’m the tent,

where birds that toil and

moil all day revel.

On my branches gets inaugurated

each season of festivity.


My Veda

of eternal relevance is truth;

I preach love and peace,

the time-tested ideals.

The branches of my ideals

do not allow the birds of prey

even to sit on me;

not to speak of them

building nests on me.

Strictly, no permission for the birds

even if they pay a fee.


Having a never-drying

milk-spring in me

I grow even on barren soil,

I am the gift of this soil.

Some birds that taste my fruit

drop their excrement elsewhere.

Some try to find fault

with my lisp of fledglings;

clip their wings

just beginning to grow.

Some others

praise the charm of birds,

a little nature,

tell them temptingly thus:

“Let’s sit on

tall branches of other trees

and be gay and carefree.”


I am unable to excuse

the woodpeckers;

do they not rejoice

in disrobing me?

Creating holes in me,

the woodpeckers,

only invite vicious vipers

to settle in me.


A poor, pitiable tree I am,

giving away my fruits

only to song birds.

My roots

labour without rest

going deep down into the soil

seeking water.


Bitter may be my seeds

but sweet are my fruits.

My body suffers

a thousand wounds

from head to foot.

Don’t you notice,

my eyes watering,

as the pungent smell of Sulphur

affects me?


Inexplicable are

my trials and tribulations

in the cycle of time.

In the annals of history,

I am a tree of achievements.

Banyan tree I am,

a marvellous one at that.

I have no chance

of being flexible

like a plantain tree.


My branches never bow down,

even while,

my fruits gain weight.

Storms wail to me

that they are unable to uproot me.

My roots are only aerial roots

which are not being closed

allow light to pass through them.

They will soon take root

and stand majestically.


Banyan tree I am,

a marvellous one at that.



Infinitive love

I cannot forget that sweet moment,

the electric sensation was wonderful

piercing my entire hair follicles cool.


Winter and all six seasons turn spring,

visualising oasis in each and everything,

tender green leaves and flower petals

everywhere – cooling to my eyes.


All the flowers looking at me blooming,

myriad of colours and fragrant smells.

In warm summer sunlight,

winter shivering.

Cold penetrating into bones,

heart is warm.


Accustomed ugly faces appear afresh,

people fell in agony seem to be holy.


Revenging attitude for minute mistakes,

no more with me, I forget and forgive,

all hurts and wounds if there may be.


Humiliations and assaults gone in ease,

heart accepts all with glowing smile,

hunger and thirst have become unknown,

working for hours along

tiredness has disappeared.


Her vision and voice remembered,

everything happens imagining her face.

Un withering smile glows on her lips,

her heart, mind and soul enlighten me.


Words I know but kept only in memory,

nowadays I start to write even poetry.

Sprinkling my brush a while in colors

to wonder as if I did paintings of arts.


Vaccination methods gone futile,

each and every heart, it strikes once.

The magical feeling converting the earth

heaven is immeasurable and worth.


My words travel

around the universe

reach whoever loves me

deliver my love and light.


You are taking me

high above the sky

all on earth seem to be

very little for my vision.


No wealth or treasure

do wonder on earth.

No way to measure

how you are worth.



River


I am the poetry of water

written by nature.

The liquid registry

and voice of the soil.


I am the unique wonder of the globe

and the lifeline of the earth

which surpasses many eras.


I am the luminous treasure

floating on the surface of the earth.

My waves surging

are the rises of the cold flames.


When the lady Earth conceived

to give birth to all lives

I am the breast milk

formed to feed

all the living beings on earth.


I speak the universal language

you never understand

the words I spelled.


I have come to speak

in your local dialect.

I want to run

as the mainstream for the lives

spending all my time

as the wild river of the past.

You have set

two embankments as my guards

which I felt as if

honoured and proud.


Whilst I always

the glance to flow

through the down valleys.


I get scared

when I see the highlands.

And every now and then

jump as waterfalls.

Put me not

into the prison of dams,

but let me flow

always as a stream.

I spread the green carpet

in my ways,

I bring

the flower blossoms as presents.


I come down

to hug your feet,

but you have thrown

thorns on my face.


I come to cleanse all your dirt,

but you turn me dirt with leftovers.


When all our siblings meet,

we download our sad experiences.

We join all through our ways,

shedding tears

make sea water saltiest.

We merge in confluence of ocean,

our ultimate pledge.


I have no chance

for any compromise

I never lose ambition

nor bow to oppression.


I wander

in identifying my direction,

but never turn back,

due to tiredness or worthlessness.

I may be arriving late

but simply unavoidable.


When the Sun burns us in heat,

I fly up higher and higher

clinging to the wings of clouds,

and rejuvenating as raindrops.


From time to time,

I burst and roared

to express my anger.

However, you dismissed

my prayers for justice.


I make by crawling

down to the ground,

if my requests are

disregarded again and again

I may have to stand

upwards as flames.


If I have wings to fly


If I had wings to fly I would have been there

close to you.


If I could wipe your tears

I would have been there

to dry your eyes with my lips.


If I could send echoes of my heart

I would have sent my heart beats

at the very instance

It would be heard by you.


If you could come out without fear

as brave as your mind

I would have broken the jail doors

and unlocked your hand cuffs.


I have penned my thoughts

in black in this white paper.

But my eyes colour

all the letters you have spelt.


If you assure me

not to turn back

I am ready to take you

on my back and walk.


No more tags for me


No tags for me

as I never like a tag

suffixed or prefixed to me.

My name is only to identify

nevermore to beautify.

Born to Indian parents

it was not at my choice.

Will live here as long as

I have an unpaid universal visa.


I have no rigid religion

as I believe in spiritualism.

I don’t belong to any particular race

I will always remain human.


Born white turned honey brown

toned black working in sunlight.

no creed or no caste

nothing clutches my mind and heart.


Political maps have boundaries

often change as to their power.

nature has land and ocean by nature

I accept with salutation.


You only claim

discrimination erased all around

but keeping them in heart and mind.

Lip services are only going in grand

with hidden agenda

and worship in mind.

this has hidden itself in between

through our blood and heart tissues.


Millenniums rolled on

leaving the impurity

alarmingly increased the density.

All isms for only gratification

for its own interest and emancipation.

Nothing came glorified

dignity, Equality nor Humanity.

My words travel around the universe

reach whoever loves me

and deliver my love and light.



Fire flowers


The dance starts

with the tunes

of the prelude music.

The flames start to dance

from the fire

beyond the frames.


The fumes form

the tunes of the prelude

for the flames.

The fire petals of

this fire flowers bloom

and flow like free verses

and take infinite forms

without any limitations.

The myriads of colours

are awesome

unseen ever before.


The flames are soft,

but furious

burn and char anything

that comes in touch.

The fragrance of the fire

flowers is unique

but the stem on which it blooms

makes a difference.


Odourless is pleasant for everyone

than any other redolence.

Water cleans some things

but fire purifies everything.




* Dr. Ezhil Vendhan is a celebrated multilingual poet from India writing poems for four decades. Poetry critics are enamored with this poet's ultra modern concept of poetry matrimony of arts to science pioneered by him from his early stage of writing by using scientific metaphors, images and simlies in his poems. An ardent lover of nature he focuses upon the protection of nature echoing the emotions of people emphasising love, global peace, human rights in philosophical and universal vision. His celebrated poem Banyan Tree was the poem selected for the Indian Republic Day Multilingual National Symposium of Poets - 1995 organised by Republic of India held in New Delhi. This poem was translated into eighteen national languages of India and broadcasted simultaneously on the eve of Indian Republic Day 1995. As of now, this poem has reached all the continents of the globe by its translation into thirty eight languages including Greek, Chinese, Spanish, Hebrew, Arabic, Russian and French. He is author of seven poetry collections and many of his poems find place in various International Poetry Anthologies. He was invited to participate in the 39th World Congress of Poets of World Academy of Arts and Culture held in Bhubaneswar, India in October, 2018. He represented India in the Festival of SAARC Writers And Literature held in New Delhi from 8th March to 10th March, 2019. He representes India as an Indian delegate in many international poetry festivals. He is recipient of many awards and few are mentioned here. World Laureate in Literature- 2017 and Best Poet of the World 2017 for lifetime achievements by World Nations Writers Union, Kazakhstan.

Fellow of the Regal World of Scribes and Enchanting Muse by Writers Corner International in the World Poetry Conference 2017, India.

Icon of World Peace by World Institute of Peace, Nigeria, 2017.

International Icon of Literature, the Mewadev Laurel Award - 2018' by Contemporary Literary Society of Almor, India. Philosophique Poeitica International Award Master of Creative Impulse, in the Wold Poetry Conference held in Bathinda-India, 2019. A Great Poet & Writer Par Excellence 2020 by World Pictorial Poetry Forum. Hispanic-American Golden Pen World Award-2021, for Very Meritorious Career in Peace and Human Rights Activism conferred by World Association of Writers and Artists of the Orbe, Peru. Mother Teresa Global Peace Award - 2021, for for his outstanding contribution Peace, Humanism, Diplomacy and Human Rights conferred by Mother Teresa International Foundation.






67 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page