top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Jake Cosmos Aller: “Cats” and other poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the American poet Jake Cosmos Aller


Cats


I often wonder about Cats

What do they think of us

It seems at time

That cats think of humans

As their slaves

We exist to feed them

To comfort them

To save them from their enemies

And to worship them

Yes, cats are an alien species

Totally different from humanity

Detached, and almost evil

If we ever encounter an alien civilization ,

God help us if it’s a cat based civilization

We would then be engaged


In the epic mother of all wars

As cats and humans would not get along

The cats would think we were their slaves

And we would resent and fear them

And secretly worship their alien ways




Buddha cat


I had another encounter

With the divine recently

Another Cosmic cat perhaps

Perhaps not

who knows what cats are

are they aliens from another dimension

or was he channeling God?

I call him the Buddha cat

For the cat loves

Sitting in a meditative pose

Not moving

Just starting at me

With his soulful deep eyes

Boring into my soul

exploring all my secret thoughts

the buddha cat

does not move

does not react

as he is so deep

into his interior mediation

truly in tune

with the cat universe

and the cosmos as well

the buddha cat

seems to be

one with God

one with Buddha

One with Allah

And all the other

Billion names of God

Known and unknown

The buddha cat


Can teach us all

About the art of meditation

As he zones inward

And loses his soul

Joining the cosmos

And becoming

The buddha cat

The buddha cat

Lives in a modest

Town house

In a modest suburb

Proving yet again

The divine spirit of God

Is everywhere all around us

The buddha cat

Reminds us all

To look for god

In the everyday

All around us

If we but have eyes

To see




Sitting on the Dock of the Bay


Sitting on the dock of the by

Wasting time

Listening to the old classic blues song

Wondering how I got to this spot

This lonely place

By the dock of the bay

Watching the tide roll in

And my life roll on

Rapidly fading into the past

As my life’s choices catch up to me

I will sit by the dock of the bay

Watching the tide roll on in

With my life fading into darkness

As the sunsets

Over the bay

And the blues come over me

And I cry

Listening to the old song

These blues do not leave me alone




Walking By A Winter’s Frozen Lake


Walking by a winter’s frozen lake

Under the glow of the full moon paraselene

As we abscond along the forest path

Blowing out my breath

On a jade necklace

With a lilt and tremor in my voice

I collapse on the ground

Asking my wife for a kiss

Telling her this is not a joke




Playing The Piano At The End Of Time


Playing the piano

In a blues band

Playing blues

For the end of time





26 views0 comments
bottom of page