top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Jasmina Hanjalic: “I will burnout for you” and other poems

The Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Bosnian writer Jasmina Hanjalic


I will burnout for you

I put on for you a tunica molesta Because you want a performance of my vanishing* The fire would melt out youthful, clear eyes, Creases of my essence, into shimmering powder There would boil a voluminous blood till vaporize And be silenced woman's heart and body As you cheerfully watch a blazing dress You celebrate yet another futile victory Because in the climax of the piece "Mala fide"

Through you look, you will breath out the stench Remain miserable in the evil solitude, Wallow in the mixture of the sludge and soot.




Everywhere


In the public square

Silent, riveted by pain

Divided by wind,

Mindless, without love constantly,

I’m looking for you everywhere.

Stone girl

Won’t give a birth or suckle,

Built by waiting and fear,

Broken in pieces.

Unknown faces

Taking out the body from evanescence,

My frozen eyes, scratching the ice

Looking for its image.

There’s no even the moon,

Faithful friend,

to approach

and blow little dream for me

to forget the emptiness

everywhere.




Days


They’re following me.

Behind smoky and sooty curtains.

twitched by the truth.

Split by the collapses.

They lost their meaning by wrong givings.

By oblivions

and murdered wishes for the dawns

I’m hiding well

unsuccessful attempts.

Fraught and insecure

like a turtle on the ice.

I’m giving myself to my own humiliation.




Come out from me


Come out from me, just like the foam

of the cherry brew.

In the square, in front of the horseman

I will come on my knees and pray for

salvation.

I have no more strength for the iron balls,

collected in the hurry for its own self,

gliding under the linen, within the breasts,

and filling me in a shameless way.

I have no strength for the sharp rocks,

blades of the milkyless breasts,

I’ll drop mass of pale blood

without being able to talk about it.




The Queen and I


I know that you are visiting the nooks of Kozograd

wherefrom you are observing the infinity, before the final journey.

You engrain the eternity into the hours, my queen.


The trees are extending their branches, as then,

the stones are leaning on the rocks

but the life, mine and yours, leaning on this thick silence.


Did you also realize that you didn't know others and yourself

and whichever side you chose when you headed for the valley

you wonder, how is it like to choose the other side?


Clock hands always come to the same place

as I want to give myself to yours

and become the shadow of this town, forever.



If you can't live alone you won't be able to live with them either


Could you alone and split watch the rain

watch the reflection of the faces

framed on the window at the dawn


and the lovers expect you to be the firefly


could you keep being the prey forever

on the way from the ecstasy to the prey

since the advantage stays at home


could you watch their nests

steal long afternoon hours

eat alone the feast cake


carry the pang and the fear of loneliness

to please your man in routine

waiting for the dawn in the fear of loneliness


could you stay barren every time

when you take their sperm

when you hear their screams of pleasure forever barren


to believe in yourself and be free

although having hands darker then the smut

it is not easy to believe in yourself


the freedom is when you walk, but not hurrying

when you fill yourself with the emptiness of waiting

and foster the future within yourself


the Bedouins won't inhabit your desert

if you can't live alone you can't live with them either.







79 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page