top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

John Grey: “Our last dance” and other poems



Chat-room


My mind is my very own chat-room.

There’s so many of me

and we talk constantly.

My only problem is that

I like the sound of my voice so much

I don’t listen to what I’m saying.

So nothing is ever resolved.

No good ideas are ever agreed upon.

I used to be able to think straight.

But that was before

synchronous conferencing.




The milking


A quarter-moon and fading stars

leaves emerge from tree branches

cardinal dives into bird-feeder

my heavy trudge makes the snow talk

cold fills my nostrils

cows wheeze breath balloons

a few flakes drift down from the barn roof

milking hands crank into gear

sun-streaked drops ping in buckets

sleepy eyes blink slow as thaw

nothing I do will get my name in the papers

I impress upon myself my ongoing value




Our last dance


Just a night light,

a table, a vase, in shadow,

no music,

but silence enough to dance,

for her to hold me,

not lover-close,

more like moss on stone.

Sequins – lilacs - myth –

there, in my house,

all draping over me.

After months apart,

she’s in this dress for the occasion –

orchard – lavender –

my apartment, a makeshift ballroom –

hoards of solitude she can’t see.

I can embrace but not explain,

light on my feet

but too much weight on the tongue,

trying to speak with

the print my hand makes

on the small of her back,

as we glide by the flowers

and bright petals mirror.

The dress flares, glittering,

a restless totem,

touched but remains untouched,

violet and white

and still less bright than her eyes.

She must go - a tap on my shoulder.

Time has the next dance, not me.




The one sound worth hearing


Above the usual suburban cacophony,

you hear the hum of wings

skimming the skin of the wind.

Your eyes brighten,

make a case

for the selectivity of ears.

A hummingbird is eager

for a last drink before dusk.

Everything else is apathetic.

Everything else has time on its hands.




Autumnal days


Autumn doesn't star

as spring does.

The crackle in the air is an acquiescence

but one that dresses so splendidly.

First, the unpicked fruit drops

Then the foliage turns,

red and yellow and gold,

as if painted by the breeze's brush.

Limbs begin to drip, thin out,

broaden the light.

Leaves drift to earth,

with the full concurrence of the sun,

or where shadows wade in moonlight,

settle on the ones that fell before,

ready for when new life comes calling.

Each of them is a destiny,

letting go one place,

fulfilling elsewhere.





12 views0 comments
bottom of page