top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Kamal Dhungana: Mother's face

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Nepali poet Kamal Dhungana



An unpleasant question


I asked many times while

I was alive

It is a question

that never seems bad

After the death of the mother

Sometimes by mistake

When I asked my father

if he had lost his mother

The mind seems to be very unhappy

This is a very unpleasant question.



Mother's face


Carrying a mountain

of sorrows for ages

Swimming in the ocean

of hunger while not starving

He stood in the sun

as the shadow

of his children

It has been blackened

by the sun for ages

Cheeks cracked, ripe hair

The most beautiful face in the world

is that of a mother.



Different games


We grew up together

since childhood

You love to play

Gradually you became younger

Time is playing a game with my life

You are playing with people's hearts

That is the difference.



Tears


There were some relatives

One day I died suddenly

I was taken to the pier

Laskar of relatives present

When I was about to light a candle

Relatives shed tears

But did not know from the eyes of relatives

Were the tears shed sad or happy?





23 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page