top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Marija Juracic: Three poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Croatian poet Marija Juracic


One harsh Moscow winter


That winter, Moscow was still red

Lenin shamelessly exposed

and long shadows followed our footsteps.


The city embraced us quietly, secretly,

open nostrils, it breathed us eagerly

we smelled of spring.


It offered us Red Square

and the St. Basil's Cathedral

and we were looking for Yesenin.


I asked you which pubs he went to

whether he shook off the snow with his boots

whether he wore a hat, cursed vulgarly this Russian winter.


The city offered us Lomonosov and golden domes

and I asked you why Blok set the library on fire

and whether it hurts him much.


And what about Mayakovsky? We were looking for Gilbert

and his Nathalie, searched the inns

by jukeboxes, but they were nowhere to be found.


Only the three of us are covered in sable

carried through the snow, and her flags clearly sounded some distant, lost winters.




Moon over Granada is silent

(For Lorca)



That spring Granada was touristically lavish

It hugged us with the charm of an old lady

whose lace smells secret.


Your boyish way and man's look

which you caressed me with, stolen kisses

it was all a bright, colorful postcard.


We drank sangria from tall, cold glasses

you bought me flowers in the square,

and I did

she thought of him the whole time.


Black mare, red Moon.

Granada did not protect him. I think he's still traveling

in the company of two bullfighters and one teacher.


Black mare, red Moon.

The moon was high, a silent witness,

painfully beautiful.

It was bright that black night.


I also remembered the one-bearded, talented one

of an Andalusian dog who cruelly humiliated him

rolled in the mud.


He wanted to shock me with that stupid one too

cut pupil

cut across the Sun.


I told you he was a freak and I didn't like him

neither him nor his pictures, and you laughed

as he would laugh at a child who does not know what he is saying.


Mare black, red moon.

He was afraid. I know he was afraid because we are all afraid.


And I was watching the moon over Granada.

I wanted, I desperately wanted to take the film back

rewind life, but there was no film.

Only the red moon cried over Granada.



I give you these poems

I give you these poems

if you return to me the verses

for you written.


Give me back my flowers

of white wax

of a blue dream.



And return to me the burned candles

and I'll give you a full glass

of black stars

out the eye dropped.

If this isn't a real song

because in a real song I would never say

that you are a swindler and a thief

than my soul and my gold

still give me back my songs.


If you want,

I'll lie to you

female blurred,

smooth, twisted

I didn't write never to you a verse,

that it's all just nonsense,

the lazy game

the play he and she

since time immemorial

I'll confide you

I bathe in a mountain lake at night

with a full moon

the wind comes to visit my

that the birches tell me all your secrets

and my wolf friends

guard the little squirrels from the beasts.


But give me back my verses.

They are not written for you.

They are written for Love.



Translated into English by Marin Mamic





58 views0 comments
bottom of page