top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Metin Cengiz: Purple silence

The Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Turkish poet Metin Cengiz



Purple Silence


Tumble into love’s wide temple

Into the soft foam of language tumble

And be born again among red lights


Dive into babbling moonlight

Into the phosphorous of moonlight falling on sound

And like rain dressed in blue

Stretch out to what you have yet to live

There, where the call of desire grows greater


On your journey goes, leap into the arms of the dark

Speaking, looking, everything that makes us us

Let it stay in the folds of deep memory

Purple silence, the rhymes in our breath

The river that flows in spate between us

And the soft tiredness we reach for

After pleasures that steal in before morning

Let them meet on the breast of evening

Like two converging diverging roads.


In that blooming emptiness of ego

Find yourself, lose yourself

All you have lived & have yet to live

Your struggles, your loves

Let them mingle with those eternal waves

That like a morning of memory flow in fountains.


(Translated to English by Neil Patrick Doherty)



An apocalyptic chain of melody

In my destiny I'm an unimaginably huge wound My face sucks in blood as i wipe it with my handkerchief As my voice scatters in the wind like that of the fall My letters intermingle with the pollen


Letters are the alchemy of defying the world In songs left unfinished They're like an ever-changing malignant tumor They're that stagnant water which chums In my oversized universe that won't fit into books: Like a lilac stain They seem to leave a trace in the night


So, with a new cause the dawn is breaking Filled with the cries of leaves gone berserk And as i thus keep pouring my venom on my wound The sentences turn into an apocalyptic chain of melody Let the sun fall on my forehead, my sweat turn cold At this most challenging point of my epileptic anguish


No, my love, i will not spell out this song for you With its aroma discarded, metamorphosed in riots I've long since stamped my seal Put down my clumsy signature On the most challenging part of life And at every sunrise I've brushed my teeth Pressing life hard into my flesh


-Come on, pick up that comb that adores poems And start the day combing your hair

(Translated by Suat Karantay )



At times


Sometimes someone comes

Settles down in my heart

Surrounding my whole body

The iron protecting me melts


Utters words I've never heard

Telling me about myself

Whisks me far away

Upsetting my world


No, this isn't the only thing i want to explain

This is someone else or you perhaps

But i understand in the end

I'm the traveler of myself


(Translated by Pınar Besen)







53 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page