top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Ricardo Plata: “To inhabit my name” and other poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Mexican poet Ricardo Plata



To inhabit my name

It is necessary to drive a thorn

of the fire rose

in the thinnest pore of the flesh,

feed every ghost,

throw a fist of my fears

as if it were throwing bread crumbs.

It is necessary to look at the photographs

where I stay alone,

crammed into a zone of silence.

Is to recognize

that you like sex without condoms,

for that feeling

to love on the edge of death.

To inhabit my body

that cell with thin bars,

I must admit,

a body is a prison of memory.




The Television’s statics

settle in the room,

right on the corner where our words join.


I honor the wisdom of your body,

the experience you have gained from your other lovers

to untangle your hair and disentangle your daily clothes.


An angel paralyzes every time you undress,

there’s a thirty degrees sun

raising from your feet

and a moon climbing up your stomach

completing each one of your phases.

You remind me of the woman I dreamt of in my childhood

and you describe your waist which maddens every time someone loves it,

show in my stomach the madness of your pelvis

so the caress will taste like a January’s evening.




You draw a cross in my forehead,

with your fingertips you found

a religion,

You smile

you throw a prayer into the void

to the god in which we do not believe

so that I won’t miss any memory when I get home.

Of those who look at me

none will know I come from your body,

I throw a prayer

so that it will always come back to you.








52 views0 comments
bottom of page