top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Roger Carlisle: Three poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the American poet Roger Carlisle


Nebraska


There are no hills, only flatness as far as the eye can see.

I stand on flat ground studying the spooling furrows of dark earth

spreading like a tide in every direction.

I cross through fertile fields of corn and soy beans,

with a few rocks and nests of pheasants,

bobwhite quail, dirt mounds left by gophers and prairie dogs.

There is a single row of gnarled trees by the farm house.

They are as old as I am, bent and wind blown,

twisted from their battle with the weather.

I stare at them until we merge, remember visiting

the farm as a child, realize how long I have

been away.



A missing tooth


Oh, How I loved your crooked smile

your warmth, forgiving trust, embracing me.

You came from the country and always paid your

medical bills in cash. You wore coveralls and work boots.

Your poverty and pride always broke my heart.

You loved yourself so naturally,

shared your black and broken teeth so shamelessly.

Twas the warmest smile I had ever seen.

I imagined us dancing in a bright summer field,

without right and wrong, our souls singing together.



First morning


Before I awaken

I love that first second in the morning

when I am half awake and time is frozen;

I’m listening to the morning,

I feel my breathing,

I smell the night blooming jasmine;

the sounds of the birds are pure;

I am suspended in silence,

it is a moment of pure pleasure;

my thinking has stopped;

my quiet mind can only listen;

my breathing calls me to drink

the life that is waiting inside.





10 views0 comments
bottom of page