top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Shaswata Gangopadhyay: “Epitaph” and other poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Bengali poet Shaswata Gangopadhyay


Knife


I don't compose poems, I only manufacture knives

If you insult me, I place that insult into the pocket of my trousers

I come back, my grit grows stronger, I make the edges of knives sharper


'What do you do? simply writing poems? then you spit, and dive into it'

Let the people laugh at, meanwhile I whet my alphabets

Which I'll throw one day, that'll pierce the throat with severe cut




The Friend


'A man is all alone when, instead of a bridge

He constructs a hard wall around both of his sides';


Wrote a Greek philosopher in his diary

Myself also etched a long tattoo on the palms of my hands

The name of my dear friend, his latest phone number.

In the scorching heat of noon, when my tongue gets dry

After walking a long way on the pitched road

With my slipper-straps torn,

I enter a booth and pick up the receiver to make him a call


Oh, as if I am slaking my thirst with a green coconut,

in one sip on my straw-lips




Epitaph


Here where he lies down, all the irons and carbons

of his body will get mixed up with soil,

only his lips will look at the rainless sky above,

and his poems as secret pamphlets

will only stay behind like the feathers in waiting for days together-

in the eye-balls of a very recent reader

running along the ridge of earth, if it so happens

they light up the glow of a lantern


Translated by Rajdeep Mukherjee





108 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page