top of page
  • Writer's picturePoetryzine

Tanja Ajtic: “Silence” and other poems

Poetryzine magazine presents the selected poems by the Serbian-Canadian poet Tanja Ajtic




Just be mine


Jealousy in me is the base wall.

With it I am a horseman in a heavy armor in France.

Jealousy in me children's playgrounds.

I, as a jellied, fruit juice boiled with sugar, I feel bored.

In my youth and squeezing space, I am the professional sworn-dancer.

I'm becoming a lively French dance, I'm dancing.

Music.

The shaving knife is under my throat.

Jealousy, like a fountain from me, popping up high.

I was never born under Jupiter, a happy planet.

My planet is Venus.

To be a clown is my job.

In my life of toys, I feel pleasure in everything.

I'm going through the time that does not exist

 Measuring my purpose of existence with a stake for point and direction measurement.

I'm late for all the afternoon seats and parties.

I have no aesthetic feeling

for fixed days of receiving on Sundays,

when it was possible to come in without a call.

I get in, they get me out of the whole world.

I fly, I can only fly with my jealousy,

to fly with my stake

and measure my heartbeat

because I love you.




Silence


Close your eyes, imagine a melody,

Think it's for you.

Chase away the silence

You do not hear anything because of it,

close your eyes.

Do you feel the third beat and moderato?

Try to remember the rhythm,

Try moving.

Imagine a melody and chase away the silence,

chase away.

Play, sing, live by

looking at.




Kiss


I still feel the warm hand on a soft breast scared.

The sky is light because of thunder.

Our lips are burning into a new kiss.

My frightened heart in front of nature for a moment beats crazy,

excited.

Your half-closed eyes understand me.

As we melt into one shadow

and while the wind increasingly drifts the rain

on warm bodies

we love each other.




A game


We played a little

then we played more.

We loved a lot

then disappeared.

We always looked for each other

then lost.

We breathed together

as  one.

Often we dreamed one another

awaken.




Amon-Ra


You like Amon-Ra, the main deity of the ancient Egyptians

and the symbol of creative power and birth,

like Amor, a god of love and jokes of the ancient Romans and as Eros,

you think love wins everything and that love is stronger than anything

and all your entertainment and play.

As very fun, interesting and enjoyable

with nice manners and with a relationship to the whole world

in a friendly manner you speak, but I believe you,

as a mistress in love, without superfluous words.

As a resident of a bright zone,

which one shadow into one season

throws to the north and the other to the south,

in the middle of everything, I trust you.

You've penetrated  into all the secrets

of carousel, comedy, cheerful music and rhythm

in everything that signifies the joy in the world.

Now, you think just of the party.

So it's easy for me to follow you

and I trust you above everything.

We are playing,

time just waiting for us,

minutes are in question.




Beginning


I follow you with difficulties

in these dangerous times,

in this now and here,

where unpleasant experiences and memories

 are quickly forgotten and replaced with

other thoughts and deeds.

 Day and night change too fast,

 like the Sun and the Moon,

It's a short day.

We all come to an end

where there is a new beginning,

and I slowed down,

I'm looking for your glance persistently

to find out

how much time has left to us in the world?

I trust you,

because you are a dreamer.




A river


You who live near the river

You believe in images of little gods of love

in ancient Roman art

and Renaissance as well as a new era.

In a lovely little winged children entertained with

various jobs

you see them and speak like Socr

I know I do not know anything!

You say that the world is a property without a master

and that it is not known who its creator is?

You as a free thinker, neither good nor bad,

indifferent, but not powerless.

You see those beautiful children in the glare of the river

which flows for you into infinity and you enjoy.

You have a safe haven and enough air

to survive everything

in the air that can cause it

chemical changes and you can calculate them

only if you want.

You live in your own reflection of an image

and I believe you

that the world can be a nice place

if we look at ourselves.

Then everything is clear.




Genetics


What can I tell you when everything is in the blood.

Genetics.

Everything was left to me.

Can’t you see?

What is mine is, very little,

overwhelmed by others.

I'm not my own.

My thoughts are not mine, they are learned.

Don’t you hear?

What can I tell you when I talk to myself more anyway?

It's all clear to you. I'm wondering.

Don’t you be surprised?

What I don’t hear from the great grandmothers and the grandfathers,

it’s not to retell.

Don’t you laugh?

I say, the tribe in me constantly boils

and it’s the twenty-first century.

I'm yelling. I'm squawking. Like a bird I’m squawking.

I'm barking, like a dog I’m barking, don’t you hear?

Don’t you hear?

Everything roars in the blood, wild.

Genetics.

What can I tell you when I’m playing on my feet

 the primal rhythm,

I'm dancing wild with the fire.

Don’t you see all this from my eyes?

Can’t you see?

Genetics.

And where am I, I wonder?

Where am I going?

When there’s a little bit of me.






91 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page